YOU MAKE THE CALL: rules interpretations and test – week 6

Welcome to the latest edition of ‘You Make The Call‘ in association with the EIHA Referee Section.

We’ll look back at last week’s scenarios later, but here are this week’s questions.  As always any similarity to real life recent events is purely intentional!

How are you on your co-incidental and matching minor penalties? This week’s questions will put you to the test in those areas for sure.  Pens and pencils at the ready, here we go – YOU MAKE THE  CALL!

Question 1:
Teams are playing 4 on 4.  Team A and B are assessed penalties at the same stoppage of play.  A17 is assessed a 2+2 for Fighting plus a Match for Slashing.  A49 is assessed a 2+2+Game for leaving the bench during a confrontation.  B91 is assessed a 2+2 for fighting.  What goes on the clock? What substitutes are needed?  What is the on-ice strength for the teams after this incident?

Question 2:
Team A and Team B both incur penalties at the same stoppage of play for the same incident and penalties appear on the clock for both teams.  Where is the face-off?

Question 3:
Team A and Team B both incur penalties at the same stoppage of play but for different instances.  Team A committed the first foul and Team B committed the second foul causing the play to be stopped.  Where is the face-off?

referees

Last weeks rules quiz answers…

Question 1:
Can a player whose minor penalty on the clock which has not expired at the end of OT take a penalty shot?
No.  IIHF Rule 63 vii) Eligible to participate in the penalty shot shootout are all players from both teams listed on the official game sheet except those serving penalties which had not expired prior to the completion of the over-time period as well as players who had been assessed game misconduct or match penalties.  The players must remain in their penalty box or the dressing room for the remainder of the penalty-shot shootout.

Question 2:
Is a goaltender who comes out of his crease eligible to be hit?
No.  IIHF Rule 183 – Protection of Goaltender “At no time is contact initiated by a skater with an opposing goaltender acceptable.  As a result, the goaltender can never be reasonably responsible for expecting a body-check.  Contact, whether incidental or otherwise, may be with a stick or any part of the body.  ii) incidental contact is allowed when the goaltender is in the act of playing the puck outside of hi goal crease, provided the attacking skater makes a reasonable effort to avoid the contact.

Question 3:
A player deliberately displaces the goal frame from its normal position during the last two-minutes or regulation time or at any time in over-time.  State the referee decision.
Rule 173 – 1) award the opposing team a penalty shot.

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

five + 2 =