#TeamStripes – You Make The Call Week 9

November 28, 2018

There are always three teams on the ice during a hockey match – the third team of course being #TeamStripes.

Team Stripes is the fastest growing team in the UK, but always looking for more recruits.  The next level 1 course is in Aberdeen this weekend, with further courses in Sheffield and Fife early next year.  Players looking to transition into officiating are also very welcome and they should get in touch with IHUK Referee Section.  Check out the EIHA website article for full details on how to book a place on the courses and details of the Referee Section.


Answers to Last Weeks’ Rules Quiz

Question 1:
A goalie, is assessed a 2+10. How many players sit the goaltender’s penalties?
Two separate players who were on the ice at the time game action was stopped.
Rule 207 xi. If a goaltender is assessed both a minor penalty and misconduct penalty at the same time, one skater who was on the ice at the time game action was stopped must serve the minor penalty and a second skater who was on the ice at the time game action was stopped must serve the full 12 minutes. Both players must be designated by the coach through the captain.
Question 2:
Is icing called if a goaltender is out of his crease when the other team ice the puck and when he realises it is icing, he skates back towards his goal crease?
Yes.
Rule 205 ii: If a goaltender is outside his goal crease when the puck is shot down the ice and icing is signaled, icing will be in effect if he moves back into his goal crease immediately.
Question 3:
A goaltender is assessed a minor penalty for slashing, and at the same stoppage receives a second minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct in a different incident. How many players are put into the box to serve the goaltender’s penalty?
One player serves all four minutes.
Rule 207 iii, Any additional minor penalties which are assessed to a goaltender at the same stoppage of play must be served by only one skater on his team who was on the ice at the time game action was stopped to assess the penalties (provided that skater did not incur penalties himself).

Why not join in the conversation about You Make The Call each week on our social media – there’s a thread on EIHA Facebook and Twitter each week when we post the questions. Give us your thoughts and pose your own questions that you would like to see get the #TeamStripes treatment.

This Week’s Rules Quiz

Answers are provided next week

Question 1:
If a net-minder deliberately displaces the net during play – what should the ref do?

Question 2:
If a net-minder deliberately displaces the net during with 1 minute to go in the third period – what should the ref do?

Question 3:
What penalty tariffs can be assessed for Slew Footing?

#TeamStripes

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

sixteen − 6 =