#TeamStripes – You Make The Call week 6- The Answers!

November 14, 2017

We’re a day later than planned, but here are the answers to the latest rules conundrum brought in association with Ice Hockey UK Referee Section.

Using the IIHF rulebook, casebook and EIHA in house rules you’re challenged each week to solve a trio of scenarios.  This week’s solution is below.

Question 1:
A player’s penalty has expired and he is leaving the penalty box. However, before he gets out of the box he plays the puck with his stick on the ice but with his skates still in the penalty box. Is there a call on this play?

It is a minor penalty for interference.

Rule 150- section ii point 6 A player on either of the players’ benches or in the penalty box who, by means of his stick or his body, reaches onto the ice and interferes with the movement of the puck or of an opponent during game action will be assessed a minor penalty for interference.

Rule 166 i defines “on the ice” means that both skates must be on the ice. If a player has one skate on the ice and one over the boards or off the ice, at his players’ bench or the penalty box, he is considered off the ice. However, if he is off the ice under this definition, he is not allowed to play the puck, make contact with an opponent, or participate in game action in any way.

Question 2:
A attacking Player deliberately directs the puck into the goal by intentionally turning their foot to change the direction of the puck. Is there a call to be made and if so what is the determining factor.

A goal is to be awarded.

Rule 96 v states “If an attacking skater turns his skate in any manner with the intention of having the puck deflect off it, and the puck enters the goal net as a result of that deflection, the goal will be allowed so long as there was no noticeable kicking motion”.

“Noticeable kicking motion” is defined in section ii as “A noticeable kicking motion is a movement of the skate along the ice or in pendulum motion as a means of propelling the puck into the goal net”.

Question 3:
Team A have a penalty signaled against them (delayed) and Team B ice the puck. where is the resulting face off?

The face-off is in Team A’s defending zone. Icing is not a reason to change the face-off location after a penalty.

RULE 53 – DETERMINING FACE-OFF LOCATION/PENALTIES ASSESSED
i. When players are penalized resulting in penalties to one team being placed on the score-clock, the ensuing face-off will take place at one of the two end zone face-off spots in the end of the team that will play short-handed except:

1.When a penalty is assessed after the scoring of a goal, the ensuing face-off will take place at centre ice;
2.When a penalty is assessed before the start or at end of a period, the ensuing face-off will take place at centre ice;
3.When the defending team is about to be penalized and an attacking skater enters the attacking zone beyond the outer edge of the end zone face-off circles during a player confrontation, the ensuing face-off will take place at one of the two face-off spots outside the attacking zone.

We will have another three scenarios to test you ahead of next weekend’s games, we’ll be online Friday.

#TeamStripes

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

three + eleven =