October 12, 2018

The latest Level 1 course took place in Nottingham last weekend, look out for more courses being announced very soon by IHUK Referee Section – we are always recruiting members for #TeamStripes so if you’ve ever thought about officiating then keep an eye on this page over the next few days.

We’re back with the latest installment of You Make The Call where we pose three rules-based questions and ask you to give your decision.  Before we give you this week’s teasers, here are the answers to last week’s YMTC.


Answers to Last Weeks’ Rules Quiz
Question 1:
Can you give a 2+2 for high sticking for accidental harm to an opponent under the IHUK in-house rules?
Rule 143: High Sticking IHUK In house rules
This rule remains as printed in the IIHF Rule Book with the following exception: Part ii) is not to be used. Any high stick causing an injury in any league will be assessed a Match penalty (to be downgraded to a 5+Game if the injured player returns to the ice.)
Question 2:
The first player to leave the players bench during an altercation should be assessed what penalty?
2+2+Game Misconduct
Rule 141 viii The first player from either team to leave the players’ bench or penalty box during a player confrontation on ice will be assessed a double-minor penalty and an automatic game-misconduct penalty. Subsequent players who leave the players’ bench during a player confrontation will be assessed a misconduct penalty. Subsequent skaters who leave the penalty box during a player confrontation will be assessed a minor and game-misconduct penalties. These penalties will be served at the expiration of all previous penalties. The act alone of leaving either the players’ bench or penalty box constitutes a violation of these rules, even if the players do not engage in fighting when they are on the ice.
Question 3:
A player is winding up for a shot and makes contact with an opposition player with his stick. Is this action subject to high sticking penalties?
Yes.
Rule 143 iv A player who makes contact with any part of an opponent’s upper body while winding up to shoot or while following through on a shot or pass is subject to all penalties for high-sticking.

Why not join in the conversation about You Make The Call each week on our social media – there’s a thread on EIHA Facebook and Twitter each week when we post the questions. Give us your thoughts and pose your own questions that you would like to see get the #TeamStripes treatment.

On that note, here’s this week’s trio of topical teasers.

Question 1:
A team official who is involved in a fight should be assessed what penalty/penalties?

Question 2:
If a player refuses to surrender a stick for measurement when requested by the referee or he destroys it what penalty should be assessed?

Question 3:
A player makes physical contact with an opponent after the whistle has been blown and there was sufficient time to avoid contact – what penalty should be called – Interference, Roughing or Charging?

Leave us your comments on the social media threads and come back next week to check for the correct answers.  Remember you’ll need the IIHF Rulebook, casebook and IHUK in-house rules, all of which are free to download from the information superhighway.

#TeamStripes