#TeamStripes – You Make The Call – Week 17

February 23, 2018

We’re back in association with the IHUK Referee Section and more from the rules of ice hockey to test, tease, inform and educate!

The latest IHUK Level 1 referee course hits the north east of England this weekend as Whitley Bay Ice Rink hosts the latest intake – good luck to everyone invovled and we hope to see our new recruits on the ice in game action before too long.

This week’s questions are all around procedures for ‘the most exciting play in hockey’ as described by Jim Hughson in EA Sports NHL98 – a penalty shot.

From the stands we’ve all seen a penalty shot and we know what rules are involved… but do we? Here’s three scenarios to put that knowledge to the test – You Make The Call!

Question 1:
During a penalty shot what side of the ice should the referee stand?

Question 2:
If the netminder leaves his crease before the shooter has touched the puck on a penalty shot what should the referee do?

Question 3:
If the netminder repeat his action of leaving the crease before the shooter has touched the puck on a penalty shot for a third what should the referee do?

Good luck with the questions and we’ll have the solutions on Monday.

#TeamStripes

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

one × five =