#TeamStripes – You Make The Call Week 15

February 2, 2018

After a week’s hiatus (thanks ‘flu!) we return in association with our friends at Ice Hockey UK Referee Section with three more scenarios to put your rule knowledge to the test.  This week’s questions are all around a player throwing a stick during play.

Before that it’s been mentioned that we didn’t publish the answers from Week 13’s You Make The Call, we’re happy to put that right now.

Question 1:
An attacking player is assessed a misconduct penalty in his attacking zone. Where is the resulting face off taken?
The face off will take place at the nearest face off spot to where the the game action was stopped as per Rule 53 v.
Rule 53 v states “If an attacking player incurs a misconduct or a game misconduct penalty in his attacking zone, the ensuring face-off will take place at the nearest face-off spot to where game action was stopped.”
Question 2:
A player in full control of the puck in the neutral zone skates backwards into the zone with the puck on the end of his stick until it fully crosses the blue line. If it onside or offside?
Onside. Rule 81, i
Rule 81 i. states “If the puck carrier maintains control of the puck while his skates cross the blue line ahead of the puck, he is considered onside provided that he first had control of the puck with both skates in the neutral zone and that he kept the puck on his stick until the puck fully crossed the blue line.”
Question 3:
What are the 3 principles to bear in mind when assessing coincidental penalties?
Case Book Rule 112 states:
1. Cancel as many penalties as possible.
2. Cancel penalties to avoid putting a substitute in the penalty bench.
3. Cancel penalties to return as many players to the ice as possible.

I hope that brings us all up to date!

On to this week’s questions, and as we said at the top it’s all around a player throwing their stick during play. Using your knowledge of IIHF rulebook, casebook and EIHA in-house rules (all available on line to download and take with you to the rink!) read the scenario described and then You Make The Call!

Let us know what you decide by posting on the thread on Facebook or Twitter, and we’ll have the answers and rules references online on Monday.

Question 1:
A player from Team A is on a break away in Team B defensive zone, when a player from Team B throws his stick towards the puck. What is your call?

Question 2:
A player from Team A throws their stick at the puck whilst the puck is in the neutral zone. What is your call?

Question 3:
Team A are in possession of the puck, behind Team B’s net. A player from Team B throws their stick towards the puck. What is your call?

#TeamStripes

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

16 + fifteen =