#TeamStripes – You Make The Call – Week 15 the answers!

February 6, 2018

It’s time to reveal the correct answers from last week’s rules quiz, all around players throwing their stick during play.  There were three slightly different scenarios about where and when the stick was thrown, so how did that affect the outcome?

Let’s check the official solutions:

Question 1:
A player from Team A is on a break away in Team B defensive zone, when a player from Team B throws his stick towards the puck. What is your call?
Penalty Shot to Team A.
Rule 165 vi. When a player or team official throws a stick or any part of it or any other object at an attacking player who is on a breakaway, the referee will award a penalty shot to the player.

Question 2:
A player from Team A throws their stick at the puck whilst the puck is in the neutral zone. What is your call?
Minor Penalty to Team A
Rule 165 iii. A player or team official who throws or directs a stick or any part of it, or any other object, at the puck or puck carrier in the neutral zone or attacking zone will be assessed a minor penalty or bench-minor penalty.

Question 3:
Team A are in possession of the puck, behind Team B’s net. A player from Team B throws their stick towards the puck. What is your call?
Penalty Shot to Team A.
Rule 165 iv. If a player throws his stick towards the puck in his defending zone the referee will award the opponent a penalty shot.

We will have the next installment on Friday where our friends from Ice Hockey UK Referee Section will put your rules knowledge to the test once again.

#TeamStripes

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

four + 20 =