January 19, 2018

Presented in association with our friends at the Ice Hockey UK Referee Section, we’re back with the latest instalment of ‘You Make The Call’ – your weekly test of ice hockey rules knowledge.

Using the online resources – IIHF rule book, case book and EIHA in house rules – have a look at the scenarios below and decide what call you would make.

Full solutions and rule references will follow after the weekend.  Let us know what you think by posting on the Facebook thread or message us on Twitter.

Here’s this week’s questions:

Question 1:
Can you ice the puck without using your stick?

Question 2:
Can you commit an icing infraction directly from a face-off?

Question 3:
Is the puck “in play” if it stops on the top of the boards (dasher)?