#TeamStripes – You Make The Call – Week 14 answers

January 23, 2018

Welcome back to our rules feature, in association with Ice Hockey UK Referee Section.  Last Friday we posted three more scenarios to test your knowledge of IIHF Rulebook, Casebook and EIHA in-house rules.

Below are the answers with official rules references. How did you get on?  Let us know on our Facebook page or via message on Twitter.

There will be another three rules to challenge you on Friday.

Question 1:
Can you ice the puck without using your stick?
Yes
Rule 65 part i- Should a player of a team equal or superior in numerical strength propel the puck in any manner (stick, glove,skate, body) from his own half of the ice to beyond the icing line of the opposing team- including off the boards or the protective glass- without the puck being tuched by any player from either team in the offensive half of the ice before the puck crosses the icing line, an icing will be in effect.

Question 2:
Can you commit an icing infraction directly from a face-off?
No
Rule 66 part ix. 1.- If any of the following situations occur, icing will not be called. 1. If the puck is iced directly by a skater participating in a face-off.

Question 3:
Is the puck “in play” if it stops on the top of the boards (dasher)?
Yes
Rule 68- i. When the puck comes to rest along the dasher anywhere inside the rink during game action, it will be considered in play and players can gain possession of it by any usual and allowable means.

#TeamStripes

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

10 + eighteen =