#TeamStripes – You Make The Call – Week 11

December 29, 2017

After a short hiatus your favourite rules clinic is back with another triple whammy from the wacky world of ice hockey’s rulebook.

We hope you enjoyed the Christmas break, though one of our Referee Section members was a little upset as he received a white shirt with black stripes from Santa while everyone else appeared to get a black shirt with white stripes.  Hopefully it won’t be too obvious when #TeamStripes is on the ice.

Here are this week’s rules queries – as always use your knowledge of the IIHF rulebook, casebook and EIHA in-house rules (all easily available online!), study the scenarios and as it says on the tin – You Make The Call!

Question 1:
Team B are attacking Team A’s goal, The referee has a delayed penalty on Team A, Team B has no goalie on the ice.

Part 1 – Team B misdirect the puck and it enters their own net.  What is the call?
Part 2 – On the way towards the net the puck changes direction from a Team A player touch and the puck goes into Team B’s goal.  What is the call?

Question 2:
Team A is 2 players short (5 on 3) in the last 2 minutes of the game or in OT. At a stoppage they request a measurement of an opponents stick, the stick is legal what action does the Referee take?

Question 3:
Player A is on the puck and is legally checked hard by another, in the process of this check which starts to the shoulder, the checking players shoulder then rolls up the body of Player A being checked and results in the check being delivered to the head. What call is made?

Hope you have a good weekend, a Happy New Year and we’ll have the answers to this quiz in 2018!

#TeamStripes

About the Author:

Media & Comms for EIHA, media support to IHUK and Team GB.

Leave A Comment

18 − three =