February 26, 2018

The British Para Ice Hockey Association has announced the fixtures for the 2018 season of British Para Ice Hockey League.

Para Ice Hockey can be seen in the upcoming Paralympic Winter Games in Pyeongchang and was known as sledge hockey until being renamed in 2016.

It follows the rules of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) with modifications. Instead of skates, players use double-blade sledges that allow the puck to pass beneath. Players use two sticks, which have a spike-end for pushing and a blade-end for shooting.

The British league features five teams – defending league champions Kingston Kestrels, playoff winners Manchester Mayhem, Cardiff Huskies, Peterborough Phantoms and Sheffield Steel Kings.

Opening the 2018 campaign the league champions and playoff winners go head to head at Widnes on April 22.  The regular season runs through until August and finishes with a playoff competition.

For more on the British Para Ice Hockey Association please visit their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/britishparaicehockey/


22 April: Manchester v Kingston (at Widnes 1630)
12 May: Kingston v Sheffield (1245); Peterborough v Manchester (1615)
26 May: Kingston v Cardiff (1245)
2 June: Peterborough v Cardiff (1615)
3 June: Sheffield v Peterborough (1615)
9 June: Manchester v Cardiff (at Altrincham 1615)
16 June: Sheffield v Kingston (2130)
23 June: Cardiff v Sheffield (1715)
30 June: Cardiff v Manchester (1715)
1 July: Peterborough v Kingston (1615)
7 July: Kingston v Peterborough (1245)
14 July: Cardiff v Kingston (1715)
21 July: Sheffield v Manchester (1630)
28 July: Sheffield v Cardiff (2130)
4 August: Cardiff v Peterborough (1715)
5 August: Manchester v Sheffield (at Widnes 1630)
11 August: Manchester v Peterborough (at Altrincham 1615)
18 August: Peterborough v Sheffield (1615)
25 August: Kingston v Manchester (1245)