EPihlThe English Ice Hockey Association can announce that the playoff competition for EPIHL this season will follow the published Rules of Competition with the top eight sides from the regular season qualifying for the playoffs.

EIHA Chairman Ken Taggart has confirmed that a planned rule change to punish teams who liquidate or enter administration will be enforced from next season. A meeting of club owners sought to exclude Telford and Manchester from post-season play after their respective limited companies had been liquidated.

“The EIHA cannot support a decision with retrospective penalties,” said Taggart. “I can guarantee that strong sanctions for violating agreed financial protocols will be included in next season’s Rules of Competition.

“This year’s playoffs will proceed under the existing rules, with the top eight teams from the league table playing in two round robin groups before the traditional Coventry final four weekend,” Taggart continued.